Skip to content

Ice Balls

January 13, 2009

If I had a dime for every time I wished that my ice cubes were ball-shaped I would probably have $0.45, but if your ratio is higher…Taisin Japan has the product for you:  Ice Ball Maker!

It doesnt look like much, but this thing really makes balls of ice.

It doesn't look like much, but this thing really makes balls of ice.

I stared at this for a little while trying to figure out how it worked.  Do you hook it up to refrigeration conduits?  Does it need 3-Phase power?  How many balls can it produce in one hour?  Does it hurt?

Then I realized there was a video tutorial on everything you ever wanted to know about making ball-shaped ice “cubes.”  My computer skillz have allowed me to share this video with you:

As if making balls out of ice weren’t enough, I can also point you in the direction of a piece of equipment that makes PERFECT CUBES.  It’s a bit larger and more expensive than the Taisin Ice Ball maker, but nonetheless, here it is:

Perfect cubes to add to your ice-making prowess.

Perfect cubes to add to your ice-making prowess.

From Kold Draft, The Kold Standard. I love that tag-line.

The Kold-Draft machines are great, but you don’t really need 400+ pounds of ice in your home kitchen…stick with the ice ball maker, you’ll be fine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

